fbpx
  • Home

Then there were six

After 4 rounds there are only six players left on a perfect score at the GRENKE Chess Open. On top board Richard Rapport (Hungary) beat Eric Lobron and is therefore the highest rated player in the leading group. Zdenko Kozul (Croatia), Vitaliy Bernadskiy (Ukraine), Maxime Lagarde (France), Daniel Sadzikowski (Poland) and Andreas Heimann (Germany) are the other five players on 4/4. The local rising stars Luis Engel and Vincent Keymer continue impressing as they are on 3.5, as is leading woman player Anna Zatonskih.


Richard Rapport against Eric Lobron

Continue Reading

Checkmate Cancer

'Checkmate Cancer' is a project of the 13-year old Lukas Muth to support the German leukemia research aid for children with cancer. Lukas' initiative is getting more attention from the public, both within the chess world but also outside of it. He also wants to inspire as many people as possible by portraying chess as a cool and exciting mind sport. As part of the GRENKE Chess Classic & Open the participants were able to attend the chess-themed movie "Pawn Sacrifice" at the Filmpalast in Karlsruhe. The entree fee of only €5 included popcorn and a drink. The total income of about €600 goes to the project. You can find all the information about Lukas Muth's initiative on the Facebook page "Setz' Krebs schachmatt". We also interviewed Lukas and his mother. You can watch the videos below.

Continue Reading

The youth strikes

It has become a tradition that many young players take part in the GRENKE Chess Open in a bid to get a sought-after GM scalp. One of them went one step better in round 3. 15-year old Luis Engel from Hamburg beat Hungarian Grandmaster Gabor Papp, who thus became Luis’ first +2600 victim. Vincent Keymer is another young talent who is off to a promising start as the 13-year old drew against Ukrainian super GM Anton Korobov. The top seed, Etienne Bacrot from France, also dropped half a point, as did Alexei Shirov from Latvia. The clash between two favourites for the women’s prize, Anna Zatonskih (USA) and Melanie Lubbe, ended in a long and fighting draw.


Gabor Papp resigns against Luis Engel | Photo: Fiona Steil-Antoni

Continue Reading

GRENKE Chess Open starts with almost 1500 players

A new record for the GRENKE Chess OPEN: 1482 players found their way to the Schwarzwaldhalle in Karlsruhe to play the biggest open chess tournament in Europe. We counted 787 players in the A_Open, almost 300 of them are titled players. 528 players have registered for the B-Open, and in the C-Open 169 chess lovers play their games during Easter. Before the start of the first round, tournament director Sven Noppes opened the Chess Open and invited the 10 players of the GRENKE Classic on stage for the draw of their event, starting on Saturday, 30 March. Many chess fans are delighted to see the clash between Magnus Carlsen and Fabiano Caruana in the first round! .


Photo: Eric van Reem

Continue Reading

More Articles ...

• Startseite

Da waren es nur noch sechs

Nach der 4. Runde liegen nur noch sechs Spieler mit voller Punktzahl an der Spitze des GRENKE Chess Open. Am ersten Brett setzte sich Richard Rapport (Ungarn) gegen Eric Lobron durch und ist nominell der stärkste unter ihnen. Außerdem haben Zdenko Kozul (Kroatien) Vitaliy Bernadskiy (Ukraine), Maxime Lagarde (Frankreich), Daniel Sadzikowski (Polen) und erfreulich aus deutscher Sicht Andreas Heimann eine weiße Weste. Ihren starken Lauf setzten die Jugendlichen Luis Engel und Vincent Keymer fort und liegen mit 3,5 Punkten gut im Rennen genau wie Anna Zatonskih (USA) bei den Frauen.


Richard Rapport gegen Eric Lobron

Weiterlesen

Setz` Krebs Schachmatt

Setz' Krebs Schachmatt ist ein Projekt des 13-jährigen Lukas Muths für die Deutsche-Leukämie-Forschungs-Hilfe für krebskranke Kinder - Ortsverband Mannheim. Lukas rückt mit seinem Projekt Kinderkrebs mehr in den Fokus der Öffentlichkeit. Außerdem will er somit möglichst viele Leute für Schach als coolen und spannenden Denksport begeistern. Im Rahmen der GRENKE Chess Classic & Open konnten Teilnehmer den Schachfilm "Bauernopfer-Spieler der Könige" im Filmpalast am ZKM Karlsruhe besuchen. Für nur €5 gab es Popcorn und ein Getränk. Die kompletten Einnahmen von etwa €600 gehen an das Projekt. Alles Infos über das Projekt von Lukas Muths finden Sie aif der Facebook Seite "Setz' Krebs Schachmatt". Außerdem interviewten wir Lukas und seine Mutter. Die Videos können sie sich im folgenden Beitrag anschauen.

Weiterlesen

Die Jugend sticht

Traditionell nehmen beim GRENKE Chess Open zahlreiche junge Spieler teil, die Jagd nach einem begehrten GM-Skalp machen. Einer von ihnen schlug in der 3. Runde gewaltig zu. Der 15-jährige Luis Engel aus Hamburg besiegte den ungarischen Großmeister Gabor Papp und damit gleichzeitig seinen ersten "2600er". Vincent Keymer legte ebenfalls einen erfolgsversprechenden Start ins Turnier hin. Der 13-jährige deutsche Nachwuchsstar remisierte an Brett fünf gegen den ukrainischen Supergroßmeister Anton Korobov. Einen halben Punkt gab auch die Nr. 1 der Setzliste, Etienne Bacrot (Frankreich), ab genauso wie Alexei Shirov (Lettland). Bei den Frauen endete das Spitzenduell zwischen Anna Zatonskih (USA) und Melanie Lubbe nach langem Kampf remis.


Gabor Papp gratuliert Luis Engel | Foto: Fiona Steil-Antoni

Weiterlesen

Fotos

Wie jedes Jahr fotografieren wir sehr viele Spieler des GRENKE Chess Open und aktualisieren unser Menü nach jeder Runde. Unter diesem Link finden Sie alle Fotos des GRENKE Chess Open 2018 aber auch alle Fotos der vergangenen Jahre.


Vincent Keymer | Foto: Georgios Souleidis

Weitere Beiträge ...